(VIDEO) Chief Justice Roberts ‘screwed up’ oath of office

Chief Justice Roberts interrupted Obama early and then switched the order of some of the words, slipping up the new president and causing him to hesitate at one point.

ROBERTS: Are you prepared to take the oath, Senator?
OBAMA: I am.
ROBERTS: I, Barack Hussein Obama…
OBAMA: I, Barack–
ROBERTS: …do solemnly swear…
OBAMA: I, Barack Hussein Obama, do solemnly swear…
ROBERTS: …that I will execute the office of president to the United States faithfully…
OBAMA: …that I will execute… [pause]
ROBERTS: …faithfully the office of president of the United States…
OBAMA: …the office of president of the United States faithfully…
ROBERTS: …and will, to best of my ability…
OBAMA: …and will to [the] best of my ability…
ROBERTS: …preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.
OBAMA: …preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.
ROBERTS: So help you God?
OBAMA: So help me God.
ROBERTS: Congratulations, Mr. President.


    • Collins S Tembo
    • January 21st, 2009

    Yes, I saw that slip, but it was all good and happy. A good speech and America Has done a great deal in helping maintaining harmony in the world.

    Keep it up we look forward to your good leadership

    God bless America

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

